Project management for professionals

Workspace Facilities

All Professional users of the planning application service on the Planning Portal are provided with two free functional areas, called Workspaces.

The first of these is the user’s default workspace. This provides a set of comprehensive online application facilities, enabling every professional Planning Portal user to create, assemble, save, copy and submit their own planning applications.

The second Workspace provides a collaborative space to allow users to work jointly.

If you are involved in creating large or complex planning applications, this tool is designed to help you.

The shared Workspace is simple to set up and allows teams to work in a cost effective and time saving manner. It has primarily been designed for planning staff that head or manage project teams. The shared Workspace allows users to invite internal and external specialists to join their Workspace to contribute to planning applications.

The owner of the Workspace can manage the make-up of the project team by adding or deactivating workspace members at any time. The owner can view all applications created by the team, retain the authority to submit the resulting applications themselves or authorise other members of the Workspace team to do so. Furthermore, all users can also be linked up to three of their colleagues’ shared workspaces, free of charge.

To learn how the powerful Workspace functionality can be adapted for different operational settings, please refer to our Workspaces guidance note.