Latest news

New Communities Secretary and planning minister announced

Published: Thursday, 21st July 2016

Sajid Javid replaces Clark as Communities Secretary and Gavin Barwell takes over from Lewis as planning and housing minister in the new Cabinet and ministerial team…

New PM Teresa May has announced her first Cabinet and ministerial team which means the new Communities Secretary is former Business Secretary Sajid Javid while Croydon Central MP Gavin Barwell, has become planning and housing minister as well taking responsibility for issues in the capital.

His predecessor Brandon Lewis has moved to the Home Office while Lewis’s erstwhile boss Greg Clark has become Secretary of State at the newly minted

Barwell has been an MP since 2010, after a spell at the Conservative Central Office and a period in the research department. He served in the home affairs section responsible for housing, local government, the environment and inner cities. Before becoming an MP Barwell was a Croydon councillor for 12 years.

On his website he declared: “Too many people have to live in overcrowded or even unsafe conditions. Too many people don't have a permanent place to call home. Too many people are having to pay too much of their monthly earnings on their housing costs.

“I look forward to working with councils, housing associations, developers, investors and local communities to make sure we build what we need with the mix of tenures that people want and that those homes should be great places to live.”

During oral questions to Communities and Local Government ministers in the Commons on Monday Barwell said the administration was “still committed to building a million new homes.”

He added: “Across this House, I hope, there is a consensus that we need to increase the level of house building. We are looking at a mixed programme, including investment in affordable and intermediate rent, as well as shared ownership and helping people to own their homes.”

Chris Grayling is the new Transport Secretary while Andrea Leadsom is the new Environment Secretary.

View the full list of new ministerial and government appointments

Roger Milne