Projects - application management for professionals
Projects is a feature within Planning Portal designed for planning staff who manage or work as part of a team. It provides a shared, secure workspace where teams can collaborate on large or complex planning applications.
All Professional users have access to two areas within the Planning Portal:
- Application workspace - the standard workspace to create, prepare, save, copy, pay for and submit planning applications.
- Projects - Projects to work collaboratively with colleagues on applications as part of a team.
Projects are easy to set up; Project owners can invite registered Planning Portal users to contribute to applications as Project members and work together in one shared space.
- Overview - a clear view of your Project and its activity
- Applications - find and organise applications more easily
- Management - navigate and manage your Projects more efficiently.
Permissions
Owner - the project owner has full permissions and assigns the permission level of each member
Member - there are three permission options an owner can assign to a member.
- Edit
- Create and edit
- Create, edit and submit
How to create a Project
To create a Project as the owner, select 'Projects' from the menu at the top of the screen
- Give the Project a name and brief description
- Add team members to the project, ensure that they already have a Planning Portal account
- Set the permission level for each member
- Finish by selecting 'Create Project'. All invited members will then be able to access the shared Project and carry out their permitted actions.
- Any Projects you create or are a member of will be accessed through the Projects menu.
Managing multiple Projects
You can create and manage multiple Projects, as well as join Projects owned by other users when invited. This makes it easier to manage larger programmes of work and organise applications across different schemes. Applications can also be moved between Projects when requirements change.
Deleting Projects
As a Project owner, you can delete Projects that are no longer required. Deleting unused Projects helps you keep your workspace organised and makes it easier to find and manage the Projects you are currently working on.
Email notifications
Project owners receive an email notification when a new application is added to their Project. This helps you keep track of activity and stay informed about changes to your Projects.
Moving multiple applications
If you are a Project owner or have ‘Create’ permission, you can move multiple applications into a Project at the same time. This makes it quicker to organise existing applications and set up Projects, without having to move each application individually. The owner will also receive an email to be notified that an application has been moved into a Project.
Moving an application out of a project can only be done by the Project owner if they created the application. An application moved out of a Project will be returned to the application owner’s individual account.
Removing members from a Project
A member can only be removed from a Project by the Project owner. When a member is removed, if that member created the application, then the application will be returned to their individual account.
If you are a member, you cannot leave a project, you need to request that the Project owner removes your access.
Get started using Projects
Start a planning application (https://www.planningportal.co.uk/app)
Start a planning application